Report for Councils 2024 NWTAC Annual General Meeting

February 29-March 2, 2024 Hay River



Northwest Territories Association of Communities

#200, 5105-50th Street Yellowknife, NT X1A 1S1

Tel. (867) 873-8359 Toll Free 1-866-973-8359 Fax (867) 873-3042

www.nwtac.com

The NWTAC's Annual General Meeting (AGM) saw more than 150 delegates and observers participating, with representation from 20 communities.

On February 28, the NWTAC hosted a Chiefs and Mayors Bootcamp, which was well-attended.

On February 29, Elected Officials Training was provided on:

Climate Change and Asset Management WSCC Update – Employer Responsibilities

Board Elections:

Elections were held for President, 2 Vice-Presidents, 1 Director.

The following are the 2024-2025 NWTAC Board of Directors:

President

Mayor Rebecca Alty – City of Yellowknife

Vice-President, Cities, Towns and Villages

Kandis Jameson – Town of Hay River

Vice-President: Hamlets/Charter Communities/Tlicho Government/Community

Governments:

Mayor Joshua Oliktoak – Hamlet of Ulukhaktok

Directors for Cities, Towns and Villages

Councillor Kevin Campbell - Town of Fort Smith

Mayor Clarence Wood – Town of Inuvik

Directors for Hamlets/Charter Communities/Tlicho Government/Community Governments:

Councillor Barb Hart – Hamlet of Enterprise

Chief Doreen Arrowmaker – Tłycho Community Government of Gamètì

Resolutions:

5 New resolutions were passed.

Copies of the New, Re-Affirmed, Standing and Deleted Resolutions will be posted on the Resolutions page of the NWTAC website.

Awards:

The 2024 NWTAC Awards winners are:

- Community Service Award Community Builder Awards Sponsored by AON –
 Arctic Inspiration Prize and Rowes Group of Companies
- President's Award Town of Hay River, K'atl'odeeche First Nation, Hamlet of Enterprise
- Evelyn Krutko Mighty Warrior Award Cynthia Horton
- Climate Change Resilience Award Town of Hay River
- Energy Excellence Award Hamlet of Ulukhaktok

The GNWT Department of Health and Social Services sponsored the NWT Healthy Communities Luncheon and Award. The award was presented to the **K'asho Got'ine Housing Society**

Note: A backgrounder on the awards is available on the NWTAC website.

Presentations:

Northern Communities Insurance Program
NWT Tourism
Municipal and Community Affairs
NWTAC Annual Report

INTERACTIVE SESSIONS- March 1st

WSCC – Employer Responsibilities

HSS – Alcohol Strategy Update

FCM Update

NWT Tourism

ECC – Advancing Climate Change Adaptation & Knowledge in the NWT

MACA – Community Fire Protection

Infrastructure – MTS Update

Northern REACHE & NWTAC – Energy Funding / Energy Circle

Local Government Administrators of the Northwest Territories

MACA – Waste & Water Funding Policy

Minister Hutchings – Federal Minister of Rural Economic Development

Arctic Inspiration Prize

Hamlet of Enterprise – What We Learned Last Summer

Interactive Sessions - March 2

Wilfrid Laurier University - Food Growing Project

Arctic Energy Alliance – Energy Project Funding and Community Energy Planning

NWTAC - Funding and support for climate change adaptation projects

HSS - Elders Abuse

HSS - Community Wellness and Weaving Our Wisdom

CPHO – Toxic Drug Supply and OCPHO Initiatives

MACA - ICIP Regional Solid Waste

Infrastructure – Energy Strategy Review Update and Community Support

K'asho Got'ine Housing Society

MACA - Land Transfer tool

ECC – Forestry Division Updates

HSS - New 811

NWT Ombud – Expanding Ombud to Community Governments

NWTAC - What is your organization doing for you. What can we do?

A copy of the AGM Agenda and Program is on the NWTAC website. Copies of PowerPoint presentations delivered by presenters are also available through the NWTAC website.

GNWT Cabinet -Open Discussions with participants: BEAR PIT

Honourable Premier R.J. Simpson (Executive and Indigenous Affairs, Justice)

Honourable Caitlin Cleveland (Education, Culture and Employment, Industry,

Tourism and Investment)

Honourable Lucy Kuptana (Housing NWT, Status of Women)

Honourable Jay Macdonald (Environment and Climate Change)

Honourable Vince McKay (Municipal and Community Affairs, WSCC, PUB)

Honourable Lesa Semmler (Health and Social Services)

Honourable Caroline Wawzonek (Deputy Premier, Finance, Infrastructure, NTPC)

Closing

Banquet and Dance